Marie-Pierre Custody, your hostess at the Moulin de Salazar

Get to know your hostess

During your stay, Marie-Pierre will be your hostess. While waiting to get to know her better, discover how and why she chose to welcome you to the Moulin de Salazar. If the reopening of the place is recent, the events that led your hostess to welcome you today go back many years 

The love of beauty and the dream of a castle...

" One day I will have a castle!" This sentence, Marie-Pierre was still a child when she uttered it, but she pronounced it with such a surprising conviction that her parents never forgot it... Yet, it is indeed to her family circle that Marie-Pierre owes this inspiration and more particularly to the women who passed on to her mother, the only child of a whole family, the love of beauty, of wood, of linen, of hospitality and of butter cooking... All of them are working in the craft industry: a cabinetmaker grandfather and another upholsterer having transmitted to them the passion and tradition of antique furniture and fabrics. At the end of the First World War, a great-aunt worked as a tailor for men; her sister, as a small hand for the big Parisian fashion houses. At home we talk about flou, embroidery, hats: her grandmother was a milliner in the 30s! But her major source of inspiration remains this great-aunt married to a screw-cutting industrialist in Saint-Florent-sur-Cher, and whose house dating from the 1930s opens onto an entrance paved with red, black and white cement tiles, and offers the incredible luxury of a real bathroom with a bathtub with lion's paws... Thus, Marie-Pierre nourishes from childhood her taste for aesthetics and her dreams of a castle!

An (unexpected) return to the land of his childhood...

Can we really speak of chance? In 2018, when Marie-Pierre, a Toulouse native at heart, began her search for the castle of her dreams, she did not focus on any particular region and scanned the area around Toulouse over a radius of one hundred kilometers. It is thus the chance which leads her to the Moulin de SalazarIt took her some time to realize that the building was located only fifteen kilometers from the village of Castelsagrat, the village where her paternal grandparents and grandmother Octavie's house was located, and with whom Marie-Pierre had fond memories of her childhood and adolescence... Such a coincidence could only make sense: Although it is not a castle per se, Marie-Pierre, under the spell of this unique and magical place, adopted the Moulin de Salazar at first sight and definitely: it was love at first sight! Since then, she thanks chance every day for this inspiring and unexpected return to her roots!

A true passion for architecture and interior design...

Initiated in childhood, Marie-Pierre's passion for beauty naturally led her to the field of architecture and design. An interest that will never cease to develop, to the point of pushing her to follow a double curriculum: enrolled in a business school, she enrolls in parallel (and secretly) at the University of Art History... An initiative that will earn her some reprimands, which will not defeat her aspirations: as soon as she obtains her business degree, she flies to Canada and enrolls in a school of interior architecture and design in Vancouver. She began working as an interior designer upon her return to France in the early 2000s. Today, she realizes that each of the projects she has worked on over the past twenty years has contributed to the great renovation project of the Moulin de Salazar...

And above all, the desire to make his guests happy!

If Marie-Pierre has invested so much time and effort in transforming the Moulin de Salazar into exceptional guest roomsIt is above all to share her love of beauty and goodness, but also because she is convinced that such testimonies of our industrial heritage must be cherished and preserved. From the structural work to the smallest decorative element, including the choice of materials and fabrics, no detail has escaped her: everything has been thought out for the pleasure and satisfaction of her guests. A principle that naturally extends to the arts of the table: tea service, plates and cutlery are chosen with care... and the dishes served must be up to the task!

Thus, to satisfy her guests, Marie-Pierre cooks only fresh and local products and offers dishes that are sometimes traditional, sometimes original, but always inspired by the multiple influences of her childhood. On her father's side, the cuisine of the South-West, which always evokes for her the great family reunions by the fire and the generosity of her grandmother welcoming her grandchildren with foie gras and confits, sugar-coated marvels and chicken in a pot... On her mother's side, the cuisine of the Center, more marked by the working class culture, potato patés, veal blanquettes and buttered brioches on Sundays... Without forgetting the tasty cuisine of the Mediterranean region where Marie-Pierre lived for part of her youth... So many inspirations for a single watchword: to please and make her guests happy!

Would you like to know more about your stay?

Marie-Pierre will answer you as soon as possible!

Would you like to know more about your stay?

Marie-Pierre will answer you as soon as possible!

Marie-Pierre Custody, votre hôtesse au Moulin de Salazar

Faites connaissance avec votre hôtesse

Lors de votre séjour, Marie-Pierre sera votre hôtesse. En attendant de faire plus ample connaissance, découvrez comment et pourquoi elle a choisi de vous accueillir au Moulin de Salazar. Si la réouverture des lieux est récente, les évènements qui ont conduit votre hôtesse à vous y accueillir aujourd’hui remontent à de nombreuses années 

L’amour du beau et le rêve d’un château…

« Un jour j’aurai un château !» Cette phrase, Marie-Pierre était encore enfant quand elle l’a formulée, mais elle l’a prononcée avec une conviction tellement surprenante que ses parents ne l’ont jamais oubliée… Pourtant, c’est bien à son entourage familial que Marie-Pierre doit cette inspiration et plus particulièrement aux femmes qui ont transmis à sa mère, unique enfant de toute une famille, l’amour du beau, du bois, du linge, de l’accueil et de la cuisine au beurre… Toutes ces personnes travaillent dans l’artisanat : un aïeul ébéniste et un autre tapissier leur ayant transmis la passion et la tradition des meubles et tissus anciens. Au sortir de la première guerre mondiale, une grand-tante exerce le métier de tailleur pour hommes ; sa sœur, celle de petite main pour de grandes maisons de couture parisiennes. A la maison on parle de flou, de broderie, de chapeaux : sa grand-mère est modiste dans les années 30 ! Mais sa source d’inspiration majeure reste cette grand-tante mariée avec un industriel du décolletage à Saint-Florent-sur-Cher, et dont la maison datant des années 1930 s’ouvre sur une entrée pavée de carreaux de ciment rouges, noirs et blancs,  et offre l’incroyable luxe d’une vraie salle de bain avec baignoire à pattes de lion… Ainsi, Marie-Pierre nourrit dès l’enfance son goût pour l’esthétique et ses rêves de château !

Un retour (imprévu) sur les terres de son enfance…

Peut-on réellement parler d’un hasard ? Lorsqu’en 2018 Marie-Pierre, toulousaine de cœur, se lance activement dans la recherche du château de ses rêves, elle ne privilégie aucune région en particulier et balaye les environs de Toulouse sur un rayon de cent kilomètres. C’est donc le hasard qui la conduit au Moulin de Salazar, et il lui faudra d’ailleurs un certain temps pour s’apercevoir que la bâtisse est implantée à seulement quinze kilomètres du village de Castelsagrat, village où se trouvait la maison de ses grands-parents paternels et de sa grand-mère Octavie auprès de qui Marie-Pierre a nourri de très beaux souvenirs d’enfance et d’adolescence… Une telle coïncidence ne pouvait que faire sens : bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’un château à proprement parler, Marie-Pierre, sous le charme de ce lieu unique et magique, adopte au premier coup d’œil et définitivement le Moulin de Salazar : c’est un véritable coup de foudre ! Depuis, elle remercie chaque jour le hasard pour ce retour aux sources aussi inspirant qu’imprévu !

Une véritable passion pour l’architecture et le design d’intérieur…

Initiée dès l’enfance, la passion de Marie-Pierre pour le beau la mène tout naturellement sur le terrain de l’architecture et du design. Un intérêt qui ne cessera de se développer, au point de la pousser à suivre un double cursus : inscrite en école supérieure de commerce, elle s’inscrit en parallèle (et en secret) à l’université d’histoire de l’art… Une initiative qui lui vaudra quelques réprimandes, lesquelles ne viendront pas à bout de ses aspirations : dès l’obtention de son diplôme de commerce, elle s’envole pour le Canada et s’inscrit dans une école d’architecture d’intérieur et de design de Vancouver. Elle commence à exercer son métier d’architecte d’intérieur dès son retour en France, à l’aube des années 2000. Aujourd’hui, elle réalise que chacun des projets sur lesquels elle a travaillé pendant cette vingtaine d’années a contribué à nourrir le grand projet de rénovation du Moulin de Salazar…

Et par-dessus tout, le désir de rendre ses hôtes heureux !

Si Marie-Pierre s’est tant investie pour transformer les gîtes du Moulin de Salazar en chambres d’hôtes d’exception, c’est avant tout pour partager son amour du beau et du bon, mais aussi parce qu’elle est convaincue que de tels témoignages de notre patrimoine industriel doivent être chéris et conservés. Du gros œuvre au moindre élément de décoration en passant par le choix des matériaux et des tissus, aucun détail ne lui a échappé : tout a été pensé pour le plaisir et la satisfaction de ses hôtes. Un principe qui s’étend naturellement aux arts de la table : service à thé, assiettes et couverts sont choisis avec soin… et les plats servis se doivent d’être à la hauteur !

Ainsi, pour satisfaire ses hôtes, Marie-Pierre cuisine uniquement des produits frais et locaux et propose des plats parfois traditionnels, parfois originaux, mais toujours inspirés des multiples influences de son enfance. Du côté de son père,  la cuisine du terroir du Sud-Ouest, qui évoque toujours pour elle les grandes réunions de famille au coin du feu et la générosité de sa grand-mère accueillant ses petits enfants à grands renforts de foies gras et confits, de merveilles au sucre et de poules au pot… Du coté de sa mère,  la cuisine du Centre, plus marquée par la culture ouvrière, patés aux pommes de terre, blanquettes de veau et brioches au beurre du dimanche… Sans oublier la savoureuse cuisine de la région méditerranéenne où Marie-Pierre a vécu une partie de sa jeunesse… Autant d’inspirations pour un seul mot d’ordre : faire plaisir et rendre ses hôtes heureux !

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur votre séjour ?

Marie-Pierre vous répondra dans les plus brefs délais !

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur votre séjour ?

Marie-Pierre vous répondra dans les plus brefs délais !